Category: Funding Opportunities – External

ASA Minority Fellowship Program (deadline: 1/31/2021)

The Minority Fellowship Program (MFP) is designed to support the development and training of sociologists of color in any sub-area or specialty in the discipline. MFP seeks to attract talented doctoral students to ensure a diverse and highly-trained workforce is available to assume leadership roles in research. The annual stipend for each award (August 1 – July 31) is $18,000. Additional financial support is detailed on the Minority Fellowship Program page.

Dolores Zohrab Liebmann Fellowship (deadline: 1/4/2021)

Internal Campus Deadline: January 4, 2021

The Dolores Zohrab Liebmann Fund was established by the Will of Dolores Zohrab Liebmann and is administered by JPMorgan, Trustee.  Mrs. Liebmann was the daughter of a prominent Armenian intellectual, writer and statesman and was married to one of the owners of a successful American business.  She supported students and educational and charitable organizations during her lifetime.  Mrs. Liebmann’s primary concern, as expressed in her Will, was to attract and support students with outstanding character and ability who hold promise for achievement and distinction in their chosen fields of study.  The trustees welcome applications from students of all national origins who are United States citizens. 

Contact Rachel Sponzo for more information about the GC application:

Ford Foundation Fellowship Programs (deadline: 12/10/2020)


December 10, 2020 for Dissertation & Post-Doctoral Fellowships

December 17, 2020 for Pre-Doctoral Fellowships

Through its program of fellowships, the Ford Foundation seeks to increase the diversity of the nation’s college and university faculties by increasing their ethnic and racial diversity, maximize the educational benefits of diversity, and increase the number of professors who can and will use diversity as a resource for enriching the education of all students.

Predoctoral, Dissertation, and Postdoctoral fellowships will be awarded in a national competition administered by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine on behalf of the Ford Foundation.