Category: Awards & Honors

Joseph van der Naald was awarded 2023-2024 Center for Engaged Scholarship

Our student Josephy van der Naald was recently awarded the Center for Engaged Scholarship dissertation fellowship for the 2023-2024 academic year. The award is $30,000 and the fellowship is designed to support students whose research is politically-engaged, and oriented toward ameliorating inequality of all types, supporting democracy, and addressing environmental issues.

Here is the website that has all the information about the Center and its dissertation fellowship program: Joey would be willing to assist students who are interested in applying for the fellowship next year.

Awards in March-October 2022

Kelley Akhiemokhalivd
Was awarded Research Grant by American Association of Birth Centers Foundation ($5,000)


Edwin Grimsley
Was awarded ASA Minority Fellowship for the 2022-2023 academic year ($20,000)


Nicholas Rodrigo
Was awarded the 2022 Dissertation Grant by National Institute of Social Sciences


Joseph van der Naald
Won the 2021 New Scholars Research Grant by Labor Research & Action Network


2022-2023 GC Dissertation Fellowship Recipients

  • Juliana de Castro Galvao, Dissertation Year Fellowship ($25,000)
  • Joseph van der Naald, Dissertation Year Fellowship ($25,000)
  • Janina Selzer, Carell Dissertation Fellowship ($25,000)
  • Edwin Grimsley, Capelloni Dissertation Fellowship ($25,000)
  • Nicholas Rodrigo, Center for Place, Culture and Politics Dissertation Award ($10,000)


Early Research Initiative Awards Recipients

  • Viktor Bensus, Pre-Dissertation Research Award ($4,000)
  • Marco Castillo, Pre-Dissertation Research Award ($4,000)
  • August Smith, Pre-Dissertation Research Award ($4,000)
  • Marianne Madoré, ERI Archival Award – American Studies ($4,000)
  • Nicholas Rodrigo, ERI Archival Award – American Studies ($4,000)
  • Cristine Khan, Connect NY Summer Award ($4,000)
  • Kristen Miller, Connect NY Summer Award ($4,000)


Catalyst Grant ($2,000) Recipients

  • Hugo Goeury
  • Alyssa Lyons
  • Cody Melcher
  • Joseph van der Naald

Awards in April-October 2021

Richard Alba

The Great Demographic Illusion: Majority, Minority, and the Expanding American Mainstream (Princeton University Press, 2020) was selected for the 2021 Otis Dudley Duncan Award (Book Award) from the ASA Sociology of Population Section


Grace Cho (Alum)

Tastes Like War: A Memoir (Feminist Press at City University of New York, 2021) was selected as a finalist for the 2021 National Book Award


Andréa Becker 

Won the 2021 WW Dissertation Fellowship in Women’s Studies by the Institute for Citizens & Scholars. Read more about Andréa’s research:


Isabel Gil Everaert

Won the 2021 Latin American Studies Association (LASA) Award from the International Migration Section.


Ricardo Gabriel 

Received two dissertation completion fellowships for the 2021-2022 academic year from:

Ricardo also received a fellowship through the Center for the Humanities at the GC.


Anna Zhelnina

Won the 2021 Best Dissertation Award given by the ASA’s section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements


Kasey Zapatka

Received the Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy grant for his research on housing affordability


Kristen L. Miller

Won the 2021 Irwin Polishook Graduate Scholarship Award offered by the Belle Zeller Scholarship Trust Fund


GC Dissertation Fellowship Recipients 

  • Andréa Becker, Dissertation Year Fellowship ($25,000)
  • Beiyi Hu, Dissertation Year Fellowship ($25,000)
  • Maura McGee, Gittell Dissertation Fellowship ($25,000)
  • Kasey Zapatka, Altman Dissertation Fellowship ($25,000)
  • Max Papadantonikis, Connect NY Summer Award ($4,000)
  • Cristine Khan, Public Research Summer Award ($4,000)
  • Edwin Grimsley, Vera Institute Summer Award ($4,000)


Early Research Initiative (ERI) Catalyst Grant ($2,000) Recipients

  • Andréa Becker
  • Thomas Chung
  • Bonnie Ip
  • Nga Than
  • Kasey Zapatka


The Future Initiative 2020-2021 Lennihan Arts & Sciences Grant Winners 

  • Josephine Barnett
  • Max Papadantonakis
  • Nga Than